skip to primary navigationskip to content

Dr Jude Browne awarded 2017 Pilkington Prize for Teaching Excellence

last modified Feb 22, 2017 03:01 PM

Pilkington Prize for Teaching Excellence

Dr Jude BrowneWe are delighted to announce that Dr Jude Browne has been awarded a 2017 Pilkington Prize for teaching excellence. The Pilkington Prize awards recognise those individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to teaching and learning and each year the prize is awarded to 12 members of staff who have made a substantial contribution to the teaching programme of a Department, Faculty or the University as a whole. 

In his letter of support, the Head of the Department of Politics and International Studies, Professor David Runciman wrote:

“For fifteen years Jude Browne has been an outstanding teacher of Gender Studies, pioneering both undergraduate and graduate courses and contributing an enormous amount to help raise the profile of interdisciplinary approaches to the teaching of gender across the University.  Her personal commitment has been tireless and transformative.  As course director and a fully engaged, hands-on teacher she has developed the MPhil in Gender Studies into one of the leading programmes in the country, designing and delivering courses that have received consistently outstanding feedback.  In the last two years she has introduced a new paper in Gender and Politics into the HSPS Tripos, which has garnered glowing tributes from students, who speak of its range, its topicality and its ability to broaden their horizons.  ‘The best thing I have studied here!’ is a wholly typical response.  Jude has been a superb supervisor and Director of Studies for King’s College and has played a significant role in ensuring the overall success of the HSPS Tripos.  It is hard to think of anyone who has done more for social science teaching in Cambridge in recent years: Jude has helped to change its focus, to engage our students and to draw different subjects together.”

Many congratulations to Jude on this great achievement. 

Pilkington Prize Winners